Sauce béchamel – a must know 10 minute recipe

Welcome to my blog, I am finally sharing this classic typical delicious sauce béchamel recipe. This sauce is a key basic in so many dishes and is a great tool to have if you are a creative cook! I love to put the béchamel in gratin and casserole, I do my signature lasagna with this too, sometimes I also indulge in fresh pasta with the béchamel and a little ham or bacon…  Or like on the picture below, I used it to create a braised bok choy rolled in ham with grated cheddar and béchamel…

IMG_1480

My americanized version of “Braised Endives rolled in ham, with with béchamel and cheese”, using Bok Choy, Virginia ham, and Cheddar…

I have recently discovered this magic trick that changed my life: with a little iced water, I have never since failed my sauce, and also I shrinked my prep time from 30 minutes to 10 minutes. I also tried some variations like using olive oil instead of butter, corn starch instead of flour. I never tried using rice or almond milk instead of real milk, but I guess it could work! Anyway, here is the classic-made easy recipe for you to master this unavoidable French key basic:

Ingredients:

  • 2 tblsp of flour
  • 2 tblsp of butter
  • 2 cups of hot milk (2% or whole works better)
  • A wooden spoon
  • A sauce pan
  • A whisk
  • Salt and pepper
  • A bowl larger than your pan with iced water at 2/3 level (this is the trick that will make you never ever mess up your sauce…)

Steps:

  1. Melt the butter in your pan on high heat. When hot, incorporate the flour and mix with energy for a smooth consistency. Lower the heat on medium, stir until the mix turns to a rich gold color. Congratulations, you have successfully cooked a roux, key base of French cooking!IMG_1457
  2. Next, stop the heat and dive the bottom of your pan in the iced water to completely cool down the roux.IMG_1458
  3. Bring back your pan on your stove, on low heat. Incorporate your hot milk, 1/2 cups at a time, whisking continually. IMG_1460The texture becomes creamy and thick. IMG_1464Add additional 1/2 cup before it gets too thick. Rise the heat gently if necessary to medium if you feel it is too liquid as it is the effect of the heat the thicken the sauce.IMG_1465
  4. I like the sauce quite thick, like a yogurt. When the desired thickness is achieved, add 1/2 tsp of salt, a pinch of ground pepper, cover and cut the heat. As it cool down, it get thicker.

Et voilà! Now, when you use it, it enhance the flavors to add a pinch of grounded nutmeg… Be creative and share your success! Bon appétit

One Comment on “Sauce béchamel – a must know 10 minute recipe”


Leave a Reply

