Celebrate Winter with Chocolate!

Thanks to great inspiration from Fashion Cooking and The Cake Blog.

Chocolate Winter cake

For the cake, due to my husband’s addiction to chocolate, I used a very famous French classic: the Nestlé dessert chocolate cake recipe, revisited by me:

1/2 lb. dark chocolate (72% ideally)
1/2 cup of fresh black coffee
3/4 cup of butter
1/2 cup sugar
4 eggs
1 pinch salt
2 tbsp flour

  1. Pre-heat oven at 400°F
  2. Break chocolate in bowl, add the coffee (little at a time) and warm it up in the microwave in 15 seconds slot, stirring well in between and making sure it doesn’t burn. Stop when smooth enough.
  3. Mix soften butter + sugar. Add eggs, mix. Add flour + salt, mix. Add liquid chocolate, mix very well.
  4. Pour the mix in a round cake dish (buttered & floured if necessary – I use silicon ;))
  5. Bake at 400°F for 20minutes

Et voilà, let it rest and cool down before taking it off its mold.

For the decoration; I used 1/2 cup of dark chocolate with the coffee again to make a paste. I decorated the top of the cake (which was great to hide little cracks…). Then I used the instruction from The Cake Blog, but choose to use my chocolate paste, confectionary sugar and sliced almonds. My cones are edible (trust me they taste great).

Enjoy and happy winter!

Et Voilà! Happy winter

Leave a Reply

